The Dark Days Club – Lady Helen #1 Review / Book Discussion / Rant-ish

img_5754

 

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars ★★★★★

This is a splendid mix of Regency era and delicious fantasy of demon slaying ❤

Fancy ball and magic, some hint of ‘alchemy’. But still did not loose the deliciousness of the usual drama of regency era.

 

Lady Helen

She’s a lovely fun heroine ❤ and a relatable one. She’s not just a forwarded mind girl that gets time traveled to Regency Era, she’s still someone who borns there, live there, learning the culture, but she’s just being the curious Helen, and I suppose her Reclaimer blood is the most reason for her action. But the fact that some of that ‘modern’ personality “MAYBE” came from her Reclaimer’s blood really make that particularly last part cringing.

I feel Lady Helen’s struggle to find her own happiness, but not wanting to take other people happiness for her own ;;w;; poor girl, but she’s strong tho, and we have our smexy annoying Lord Carlston haha

 

Lord Carlston

The mysterious, yummy dude, who being suspected as the murderer of his wife. (I’ve seen this somewhere, but that’s totally fine ww). He doesn’t really have that much appereances at first, and I can’t really feel what he actually is. But toward the end, specially after he trains with Lady Helen, I do feel he ‘feels’ attraction from Lady Helen since she resemble his late wife (according to Lord Selburn)

AND EVER AFTER THAT I WAS LIKE, SCREAMING  ‘NOW KISS’  TO BOTH OF THEM HAHA JUST GO OUT ALREADEH GUYS ww //gemes

He actually captivated me from the moment he ‘annoyingly’ asked Lady Helen her Fan, that had her mom’s portrait atm, and the way he mischievously asked for it from her is just so hnngghh www

 

Lord Selburn

Boy, this dude really got his heart sprinkled with magic by Lady Helen X’D He’s the type that got drawn by ‘modern’ type of girl.. He’s a decent gentlemen, really does have affection for out lovely heroine, but I’m not sure he’s right for her, at the same time he doesn’t seem wrong for her too haha

What do I wanna say actually? Ww idek

But as we know from the end, he’s still not giving up on her, YOU GO DUDE, reach for those yearning you feel for her, even tho our Lord Carlston is hella massive hurdle.

 

Darby

THIS GIRL IS JUST SO LOYAL OH GOSH, WHERE CAN I FIND ONE LIKE HER?!

She’s protective of her lady, and Lady Helen did love her as a friend too. She’s pretty strong for a servant woman too I suppose, mentally..

And her vibes with Quinn is guuhhddd, I’m cheering for those 2 ///

 

Andrew

He’s somehow protective(?) too for her sister, he did want the best for his sister, but his not-knowing-anything somehow only makes it harder ;;; not like he could know everything, since it’ll danger his life too..

But he’s not a bad dude, and pretty generous to give Lady Helen her own allowances in the end.. hang on there brother! o9

 

Overall

Alison Goodman writing style is purrfect for me. I’m really tempted to read her other series, EON and EONA. but the theme isn’t historical fiction -victorian-regency-era-, and I’m still drowning on my personal-salty-world :’)  Need to do something with this personal thing first, and then fianlly I can read anything ;;

Other than that, I’m reaally looking forward for the sequel, and feels lonely at the same time after I found out this will be a trilogy.. Only 2 moar books and it’s gonna end :”(

THE POSSIBILITIES omg, Lord Selburn and Helen and Carlston and then the other things, i’m such a drama sucker and idc ww

 

7 thoughts on “The Dark Days Club – Lady Helen #1 Review / Book Discussion / Rant-ish

Leave a comment